Hospitals

No frivolity here: 15 stem cell experts and 10 news sources to follow on Twitter

Apparently, there are still some Twitter holdouts in the science world. Ben Paylor writes on the Signals Blog: A recent piece in Regenerative Medicine by Lee Buckler argues that social media is still generally perceived as a tool of frivolity within the scientific community. The stance that Twitter is a time-consuming distraction, best suited for […]

Apparently, there are still some Twitter holdouts in the science world. Ben Paylor writes on the Signals Blog:

A recent piece in Regenerative Medicine by Lee Buckler argues that social media is still generally perceived as a tool of frivolity within the scientific community. The stance that Twitter is a time-consuming distraction, best suited for personal engagements rather than professional use is a position that is both dated and uncompetitive. Buckler goes on to build a persuasive case for the importance of increased use of social media within the stem cell sector, and he joins the ranks of several others calling for increased social media use from professors and trainees.

He makes a smart case for getting an account and using the social media site as a news source:

Sponsored Post

Physician Targeting Using Real-time Data: How PurpleLab’s Alerts Can Help

By leveraging real-time data that offers unprecedented insights into physician behavior and patient outcomes, companies can gain a competitive advantage with prescribers. PurpleLab®, a healthcare analytics platform with one of the largest medical and pharmaceutical claims databases in the United States, recently announced the launch of Alerts which translates complex information into actionable insights, empowering companies to identify the right physicians to target, determine the most effective marketing strategies and ultimately improve patient care.

Following general stem cell news aggregators or prestigious journals allows one the ability to customize news streams from expert sources which possess unparalleled speed and scope. Thus, at this very basic level Twitter can reduce the time it takes to keep tabs on numerous different outlets.

Paylor created these three lists of general news sources and individuals tweeting about stem cells.

General news aggregators
@StemCellWatch
@MyStemCellNews
@StemCellTracker

Regional stem cell agencies
@StemCellNetwork
@CCRM_ca 
@EuroStemCell
@CIRMnews
@NYSCF
@CellStemCell
@NatureMedicine

Individuals

Paul Knoepfler (@pknoepfler)
Christopher Scott (@TheStemCell)
Alexey Bersenev (@celltherapyblog)
Jim Till (@jimtill)
Robert Lanza (@robertlanza)
Tim Caulfield (@CaulfieldTim)
Chris Mason (@Prof_ChrisMason)
Leigh Turner (@leighgturner)
Jon Rowley (@JonRowley)
Lee Buckler (@celltherapy)
Doug Sipp (@dougsipp)
Ubaka Ogbogu (@ubakaogbogu)
Benoit Bruneau (@benoitbruneau)
Michael Kallos (@kallosm)
Francis Lynn (@nictitate)

Paylor is a PhD candidate in the Experimental Medicine program at the University of British Columbia. He has a bachelor’s of Medical Science and Masters of Philosophy in Cardiovascular Biology and Medicine. You should follow him too.